Board Meeting May 24, 2010

The Scottsboro City Board of Education met in regular session for the May board meeting on the above date at 5:00 P.M. at the Page Administration Building with all members present: Mrs. M.M. McKinnon, President, Mr. Jerry Coleman, Mr. Robbie Copenhaver, Mr. Donald Hodges and Dr. Judy McCrary.

The Board recognized **Chandler Knight**, Third Grade Student from Brownwood Elementary School, for being selected the grand prize winner of the **Tennessee Valley Severe Weather Poster Contest** by the Members of the National Space Science and Technology Center of the University of Alabama-Huntsville.

The Board recognized individual **EPCOT** students of Scottsboro High School for their outstanding achievements at the Skills USA State Conference.

The Board recognized the members of the **Girls Track Team** and coaches for placing second overall at the AHSAA Class 5-A State Track Meet. Individual winners of the Track Team were also recognized for their achievements.

On a motion by Mr. Copenhaver and a second by Dr. McCrary, the vote was unanimous to approve the **Agenda**.

On a motion by Mr. Coleman and a second by Mr. Copenhaver, the vote was unanimous to approve the Minutes of the May 3, 2010, Regular Meeting.

There were no **Delegations**.

On a motion by Mr. Copenhaver and a second by Dr. McCrary, the vote was unanimous to approve the following **Personnel Matters:**

I. RECOMMENDATION OF NON-RENEWAL OF CONTRACT

CERTIFIED

- 1. CHILDRESS, Karen Fifth Grade Teacher, Collins Elementary School, effective May 28, 2010.
- 2. HARRIS, James Science Teacher, Scottsboro Junior High School, effective May 28, 2010.
- 3. MASON, Bethany First Grade Teacher, Nelson Elementary School, effective May 28, 2010.
- 4. SKIPPER, Amy Itinerant Elementary Music Teacher, Scottsboro City Schools, effective May 28, 2010.

On a motion by Mr. Coleman and a second by Dr. McCrary, the vote was unanimous to approve the following:

II. RECOMMENDATION FOR RE-EMPLOYMENT – CERTIFIED STAFF

A. Re-employment and Tenure Status

- 1. DOLL, Thomas Math Teacher, Scottsboro High School
- 2. HANCOCK, Tina Computer Teacher, Scottsboro Junior High School
- 3. LEWIS, Shaley English Teacher, Scottsboro Junior High School
- 4. MCNUTT, Drew Social Studies Teacher, Scottsboro Junior High School
- 5. PATTERSON, Cynthia Physical Education Teacher, Scottsboro Junior High School
- 6. TOWNSEND, Kerry Chemistry Teacher, Scottsboro High School
- 7. WHITLEY, Kristin Title I Teacher, Collins Elementary School
- 8. YARBROUGH, Brooke Third Grade Teacher, Nelson Elementary School

On a motion by Mr. Copenhaver and a second by Dr. McCrary, Board Members Mr. Coleman, Mr. Copenhaver, Dr. McCrary and Mrs. McKinnon approved the following:

III. EMPLOYMENT

SUPPORT

HODGES, Danny – Custodian (10-months), Nelson Elementary School, effective July 19, 2010.

Mr. Hodges abstained.

On a motion by Dr. McCrary and a second by Mr. Coleman, the vote was unanimous to approve the following:

IV. LEAVE OF ABSENCE

CERTIFIED

BEARD, Holly – Itinerant Music Teacher, Scottsboro City Schools, effective for the 2010-2011 school year (extension of maternity leave).

On a motion by Mr. Coleman and a second by Dr. McCrary the vote was unanimous to approve the following:

VI. RESIGNATION

CERTIFIED

GUTHRIE, James – Physical Science Teacher, Scottsboro High School, effective June 1, 2010.

On a motion by Dr. McCrary and a second by Mr. Coleman, the vote was unanimous to approve the following requests for **Out-of-State Travel:**

Kristi Clifton & Cosmetology students (Jessica Thompson & Marselie Fuentes)
Kansas City, Missouri
June 18-26, 2010
National Skills USA Competition

Deborah Miller & FBLA student (Drew Cookston)-----Nashville, Tennessee

July 13-18, 2010

FBLA National Leadership Conference

Stacy Weaver & Cheerleaders------Murfreesboro, Tennessee

July 6-8, 2010

Cheerleader Camp (Middle Tennessee State University)

Donna West-------Minneapolis, Minnesota
July 21-25, 2010
NEA ESP Leader for Tomorrow Conference

On a motion by Mr. Coleman and a second by Mr. Copenhaver, the vote was unanimous to approve the **Purchasing Card Agreement** with Regions Bank.

Before adjourning, Dr. Berry shared that our school system has received from AdvancED the final report that we have been awarded District Accreditation from AdvancEd Accreditation Commission. She requested that Tony Ball share the information in regard to the accreditation. He explained that there are five (5) levels of accreditation and that we received the highest level. He explained that the opportunities listed are areas that need to be worked on. Julie Petty will be heading the committee that is Quality Assurance and is a three (3) year process before recommendations and solutions to the opportunities will be made. Dr. Berry and the board members expressed their thanks to Tony Ball, Julie Petty, Kerry Townsend, Corky Hood and Betsy Pitchford along with others who were a part of this accreditation process.

On a motion	by Mr	. Copenhaver	and	a second	by Dr.	McCrary,	the	vote	was	unanimous	to
Adjourn.											

President
Secretary